Tuicemens

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Error saving file help?  (Read 1882 times)

deemce

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Error saving file help?
« on: November 14, 2015, 11:36:38 AM »

Looking for some help with this.
Moved to a new house and transported my X10 gear to it. Had the normal problems with half the items working and the other half not ( phase coupler installed), etc. Until I found this site, I was about to trash it all. Now my question.... when I try to download my timers and Macros( I don't use macros), I get "Error Saving File" and nothing downloads. As I run AHP from my laptop, my AHP works when my laptop is docked but as soon as I undock to travel, no timer activity ( my CM15A must be blank).

I tried a fresh Marmitech download months ago - no change. Tried a fresh AHP download from this site yesterday - no change. Any and all ideas would be appreciated greatly.

Thanks
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3706
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Error saving file help?
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2015, 11:56:57 AM »

In ActiveHomePro try clicking on purge macros and timers then clear interface.
do this a couple of times.
You Don't state what Windows version you have this installed on.
Have you checked to be sure the Cm15 Drivers USB drivers have installed?
Have you tried a CM15A reset removing batteries and unplugging from power and USB?
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

deemce

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Error saving file help?
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2015, 01:37:20 PM »


1)In ActiveHomePro try clicking on purge macros and timers then clear interface.
do this a couple of times. 
Done X2
2)You Don't state what Windows version you have this installed on.
Windows 7 with SP1
3)Have you checked to be sure the Cm15 Drivers USB drivers have installed?
Has x10ufx2.sys installed.
4)Have you tried a CM15A reset removing batteries and unplugging from power and USB?
Done x2   no change.

Also, when I loaded AHP from your site to try that, my switch icons are now goofed up. See pic attached.

Thanks for your help with this.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3706
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Error saving file help?
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2015, 02:34:47 PM »

Also, when I loaded AHP from your site to try that, my switch icons are now goofed up. See pic attached.

Thanks for your help with this.
the switch icons are missing because you had the marmitek version installed prior this is a Northamerican version.

Does changing a modules status in AHP turn on or off the X10 device?
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

deemce

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Error saving file help?
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2015, 04:22:05 PM »

Now I am in the woods ( so to speak). After resetting CM15a, now my computer will not recognize it. Trying to troubleshoot that now.
Logged

deemce

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Error saving file help?
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2015, 04:40:42 PM »

OK, reset the CM15a again and I now have connection.  The icons will not turn on/off the device when using AHP. 

Other ideas? Delete all AHP files and start from scratch? I deleted the corrupted icons from the Marmitech version and made new icons from the NA version. Still does not control the devices.
Logged

Brian H

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 149
Re: Error saving file help?
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2015, 07:21:13 AM »

For any loads on a dimmer type X10 module.
Do they turn On instantly to 100% or slowly ramp On to 100%?
The later X10 modules have Soft Start and AHP was updated to support them.
If you have the older dimmers that are not Soft Start. Use the AHP Older Lamps (No Soft Start) to define them.
Logged

deemce

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Error saving file help?
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2015, 10:00:55 AM »

Brian, Thanks for the tip. I changed each module to "older type" and now they function through AHP.  :)

I still cannot download timers into the CM15 though. I may just buy a replacement CM15 to try it. Nothing else makes sense.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3706
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Error saving file help?
« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2015, 12:09:58 PM »

Have you tried a different USB cable?
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

deemce

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Error saving file help?
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2015, 01:46:59 PM »

Yes. New cable tried yesterday without luck. That was a new cable still in the box and it would not connect to the laptop.CM15 bad?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3706
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Error saving file help?
« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2015, 02:36:21 PM »

I would say the CM15 was bad, did it ever hold timers/macros?
you say you don't use macros  maybe create a simple one and then try a upload again.

I did have one go similarly to yours the upload to the interface would fail.
If I remember the status bar for uploading would never complete.
I removed the batteries and threw it in my X10 spare module box. Months later I plugged it back in did a macro purge and memory wipe several times then attempted a upload and it worked.
It now works at my off grid place and has been for several years now.
How old is your Cm15 ?
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

deemce

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Error saving file help?
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2015, 04:06:23 PM »

OK,

My CM15 is older..... maybe 10 years? The status bar would not complete as you said your old CM15 did. I'll order another one.
Thanks a lot for all of your help and for this site.
D
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3706
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Error saving file help?
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2015, 04:28:51 PM »

Don't trash your current Cm15 it is possible you may be able to revive it after it has been dormant for some months.

The older Cm15A's had a little known lockup issue If I remember right X10dispatch had something built in to cycle it.
I'm not sure if the newer version of it has that but it maybe worth looking at.
http://tuicemen.com/forum/index.php?topic=717.0
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!
Pages: [1]
 

succession-resounding