Tuicemens

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Unthethered my CM15A from my PC  (Read 3427 times)

mldenison

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Unthethered my CM15A from my PC
« on: February 07, 2014, 10:49:53 AM »

My PC is in my basement 'office' at one end of my home.  I have a 2 story house and control via HR12A remotes is spotty in some areas of the house.

I've tried several antenna mods on the CM15A with poor results.

Someone had posted that they use a TrendNet wireless USB print server, model TEW-MFP1 so I decided to give it a try.

My CM15A is now in the living room, central in the house.

My remotes have no problems controlling anywhere in the house.

The print server also has an RJ45 jack should you not want to use its wireless connectivity.

The TrendNet software requires a manual connect with the CM15A, but that's not a problem since I only need a connection when I'm running AHP for security macros or updating it.

I'm a happy camper!
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3717
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Unthethered my CM15A from my PC
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2014, 11:33:32 AM »

Nice to hear you found away to do that I know many have tried with different devices without success.
Is this the device: Wireless N Multi-Function USB ?
If so the price looks good.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

mldenison

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Unthethered my CM15A from my PC
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2014, 02:13:01 PM »

That's the one.  And a good price - that's what I paid for mine.
Logged

SDC

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Unthethered my CM15A from my PC
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2014, 08:30:02 AM »

The TrendNet software requires a manual connect with the CM15A, but that's not a problem since I only need a connection when I'm running AHP for security macros or updating it.

So I'm confused. If I get this, can I update macros and timers and control my CM15A wirelessly from my PC or not ? I need my CM15A centrally located too.

Thanks for any info on this
Logged

mldenison

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Unthethered my CM15A from my PC
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2014, 12:08:21 PM »

Yes, you can.  The TrendNet device is about the size of a deck of cards.  Park your CM15A anywhere in the house.  Plug the TrendNet device into its USB port.  The Trendnet device can operate wireless or CAT5 cabled.  There's a software utility that comes with it that allows your networked PC to communicate with the device.  Any X10 SDK program or ActiveHome now communicates with the CM15A transparently.
Logged

SDC

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Unthethered my CM15A from my PC
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2014, 03:29:47 PM »

Perfect, that's just what I need. Thanks for your fast reply and your original post on this ! I'm going to order one now.

EDIT: BTW, Tuicemen's link goes to the TE100-MFP1 which is a wired ethernet connection only. Here's the TEW-MFP1

« Last Edit: August 17, 2014, 03:50:18 PM by SDC »
Logged

bob2701

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: Unthethered my CM15A from my PC
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2015, 12:06:04 AM »

I know this is old information but thanks, sounds like what I need also.
Logged

Boltsman

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: Unthethered my CM15A from my PC
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2016, 12:28:30 PM »

Does this work outside the house with x10 Commander?  I have a MAC and Parallels and the USB sometimes just quits communicating with the CM15A.   HELP would be great.  GREAT forum!!!
Logged

rjparker

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Unthethered my CM15A from my PC
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2018, 07:11:10 AM »

Also interested if this solution is still viable to allow "untethered" access to the CM15a.
Logged

mldenison

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Unthethered my CM15A from my PC
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2018, 09:53:53 AM »

Unfortunately, TrendNet has discontinued the wireless usb print server.

Since I now have have a WM100 wifi module, I no longer have to keep my CM15A connected to my PC.  All my timed events are now on the WM100.

I have one lone macro running on the CM15A that turns off an appliance module 15 minutes after being turned on - my bathroom heater.

Once, when/if macros are supported on the WM100, I imagine the CM15A will be permanently retired.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3717
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Unthethered my CM15A from my PC
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2018, 10:51:19 AM »

There are a few drawbacks with the WM100 currently.
1: No RF capabilities. So remotes won't work with it
2: if your internet goes down you can't control anything with your Phone

Timers and I suspect macros(when/if they come) will still work if the network goes down but if you need to turn something on or off you'll need an extra transceiver.
Users may wish to look at adding a Pi to their CM15A, you can even add a $7 Pi Zero to the inside of a CM15A
 ;>
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!
Pages: [1]