Tuicemens

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: New CM15A  (Read 3660 times)

mldenison

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
New CM15A
« on: January 15, 2014, 10:32:23 PM »

Since the new X10 owner is ramping up production of CM15A's, I emailed them about a parts question.

I have a spare CM15A purchased from eBay that was advertised as 'new'.  I've had it for a few months and should have tested it when I got it.  The receiver board is messed up - no range.

Their response to my email was brief - they don't intend to offer any parts for the X10 products.

I'm disappointed.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3717
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: New CM15A
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2014, 08:50:03 AM »

Not offering parts is understandable, the old company never did either.
It is cheaper for them to just replace units.
Also with a new production run there is no guarantee the new parts would work in an older model.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

dave w

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: New CM15A
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2014, 02:59:57 PM »

Also with a new production run there is no guarantee the new parts would work in an older model.
Yes. I doubt the new CM15 will resemble the old CM15 inside except perhaps the receiver and transmitter daughter boards. The old CM15A mother board is all "thru hole" leaded component technology. My guess would be the new CM15A is all surface mount technology for the automated assembaly benefit.

For mldenison: There are 315MHz receiver boards listed on eBay. They can be retuned to 310mHz and used in the CM15A. I do not remember the unit Dave Houston recommended as a better replacement for the original CM15A receiver module, but will try and find out.
Logged

mldenison

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: New CM15A
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2014, 03:30:56 PM »

Thanks, Dave.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3717
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: New CM15A
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2016, 05:43:59 PM »

With the Cm15 no longer available (out of stock) from X10 I had to look into the possibility of a new design.
It seems Authinx has no plans to redesign this at the moment.
That is understand able given the state the software is currently in.
I suspect if a new AHP build were to surface they may reconsider this.
I was not given a time line as to when or if this would be again available.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Brian H

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 150
Re: New CM15A
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2016, 06:15:13 AM »

From what I have seen on the X10 Forums.
The latest CM15A has surface mounted controller chips and the RF Transmitter and Receiver board where gone. They are now on the main PCB.

I know in the later years of X10WTI. They had started to use surface mounted devices. I don't know if they had the CM15A updated but I believe they did.
 
Logged

racerfern

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
Re: New CM15A
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2016, 06:21:47 PM »

Without a CM15A or its equivalent, there is no good reason to expand an existing system or to consider the purchase of a new system.

I would expect that something new is coming within days. Either that or Authinx has more money than business acumen.
Logged

VishnuLogan

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: New CM15A
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2016, 03:48:27 PM »

It will be interesting to see if they do come out with an updated version of the CM15A.  I ended up ordering a replacement unit off of Amazon earlier this year to get one of the units that I support up and running again.  Fortunately it was the same price that X10.com once sold them for. 
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3717
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: New CM15A
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2016, 04:28:29 PM »

According to Authinx a small shipment is being airmailed (should be available by mid April if not sooner) a larger order is on way by slow boat should be here by mid may.
My contacts say there is no new modifications done for these shipments.
I was concerned as there are developers working with the old AHP code trying to get some sort of updated build which will not require registration.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

VishnuLogan

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
Re: New CM15A
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2016, 05:12:26 PM »

That is excellent news.  I will probably pickup a spare unit (once they have them back in stock) to have around since I support 4 homes (mine home plus friends and relatives) with there X10 systems.  I am currently setup to receive an email once this product is back in stock via Authinx.  Thank you for the information. 
Logged

roger1818

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
Re: New CM15A
« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2017, 02:55:55 PM »

I know this is an old thread, but does anyone know if the CM15A was ever updated to include the missing decoupling caps to fix the problems discussed in this thread: Timers and Macros Quitting After "X" Days?  Optimally there should also be caps from each of the USB data lines to ground.
Logged

Brian H

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 150
Re: New CM15A
« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2017, 03:40:25 PM »

I did see a post on the X10 forums. June 2013.
The CM15A was updated to more easily found surface mount chips and components.
By X10WTI before being sold.
Was not indicated if a new controller chip was being used. Like in the Lamp Module and Appliance Module.
The RF transmitter and receiver are now on the main board with no daughter boards.

The included top and bottom photos do show some surface mounted capacitors around the chips on the bottom photo but I can not say if the bypass capacitors where there.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2017, 03:58:54 PM by Brian H »
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3717
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: New CM15A
« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2017, 03:43:49 PM »

My understanding is the CM15A currently being offered by Authinx has not been changed form when X10WTI was selling them. In fact
I believe it is still old stock from x10 WTI.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!
Pages: [1]
 

succession-resounding