Tuicemens

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Rediscovering devices  (Read 2943 times)

DKBIALIK

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Rediscovering devices
« on: June 20, 2018, 07:56:25 PM »

It seems that twice a day (at least) I am asking Alexa to discover devices.  Is anyone else having this issue?  Can I create a routine for it to discover devices every twelve hours?
Logged

IPS

  • Beta Tester
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 87
Re: Rediscovering devices
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2018, 11:35:39 PM »

Some days I too have to ask Alexa to discover devices. That happens when either Alexa just goes quite or device does not go on/off or Alexa says device isnít responding. Most of the time rediscovering solves the problem. Other times I have to go into the app of the device and make sure the device is connected and working.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3856
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Rediscovering devices
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2018, 07:04:17 AM »

Are your using wi-fi or ethernet with Alex10 and HA-Bridge
Since moving my Alexa to a raspberry PII also noticed sometimes Alexa would not see devices and some times not discover them either.Since the Pi has both ethernet and wi-fi I found enableing the wi-fi helped solve this.
Since the Pi also is running HA-Bridge my thinking is this losing connection for what ever reason.
Maybe wants to use wi-fi and tries that first if that fails it isn't switching to ethernet for what ever reason.

Since turning on the Wi-fi I've not had an issue with Alexa.
If your PC has wi-fi but your useing ethernet switch to wi-fi and see if that fixes things.

Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

DKBIALIK

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Rediscovering devices
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2018, 05:52:08 AM »

It is a wired connection.  I am using a stand-alone pc running Windows 7 with all updates.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3856
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Rediscovering devices
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2018, 06:48:52 AM »

Have you reserved the IP of your PC in your router?
Is it a static IP?
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

DKBIALIK

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Rediscovering devices
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2018, 02:43:16 PM »

Yes static ip.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3856
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Rediscovering devices
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2018, 03:48:51 PM »

Yes static ip.
set in the router as well as the PC?
Did you reserve the amazon Alexa devices IP in your router? that shouldn't need to be done but from what I've read else where that should help speed things up.
Also in HA-bridge under bridge control scroll down to UPNP Send Delay and see what that is set to there was a issue with this setting which causing Alexa to time out finding devices
Mine is set to 1500 but you can try a lower or higher value I believe my city copy is as low as 500
« Last Edit: June 23, 2018, 03:50:53 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

DKBIALIK

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Rediscovering devices
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2018, 06:29:46 PM »

It was set to 650, I moved it down to 500.  If this does not make it happy, I will start moving it up.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3856
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Rediscovering devices
« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2018, 08:32:07 PM »

I would think a higher # would be better  ;>
If this doesn't help click on help from the Ha-Bridge web interface which should take you to the HA-bridge Github page where you can post an issue for HA-Bridge.  ;>
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3856
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Rediscovering devices
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2018, 08:43:16 AM »

I found this tidbit of info on the HA-Bridge issues page.
In your addaptor properties  on your PC go to configure then Power Managment.
If "Allow computer to turn off......." is  checked then uncheck it, then click OK.

I had this unchecked on my laptop but it seems one of the windows updates may have turned it back on (DH)
 (Chr)
« Last Edit: June 26, 2018, 08:50:12 AM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

DKBIALIK

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Rediscovering devices
« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2018, 06:45:04 PM »

I am noticing when the history fills the window, I have to rediscover the devices or clear the history.
Logged
Pages: [1]
 

succession-resounding