Tuicemens

Pages: [1]

Author Topic: What Is PCC doing for you?  (Read 4039 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3711
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
What Is PCC doing for you?
« on: January 01, 2011, 04:58:03 PM »

It's more a question of what you have PcCompanion doing not what will it do!
I'm interested in how you've utilized this software in your setups.
Now that PcCompanion can talk to the other popular software I created the possibilities realy are limited only by your imagination.
I'd realy like to see some other software created by others to be able to talk directly to PcCompanion (maybe some day it will happen). ::)
 (Chr)
« Last Edit: June 04, 2012, 08:00:08 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Knightrider

  • Programmer
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
  • Home Automator since 1988
    • This Automated House
Re: What Is PCC doing for you?
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2011, 10:26:41 PM »

IMHO,

the best feature of PC Companion is it's ability to monitor outdoor temperatures via the internet and send out x10 codes.

In the past, I would have it turn on heat tape on my pipes when the temperature got below 5f.

It turns on my attic fan when the temperature hit 70f and off again when it drops below 65f.  It sets flags in AHP to prevent the furnace from running when it's 65f outside, and announces to my wife to open or close the windows when it's nice outside. 

This one feature alone makes PCC worth every penny.
Logged
Tuicemen Software picks up where AHP left off!

Satisfied BVC user since November 2007

Proud Supporter of Xenia Kids and Robots. 
Introducing kids to high technology and teamwork since 2009.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3711
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: What Is PCC doing for you?
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2011, 10:44:27 PM »

Some users have found that using the internet wasn't always accurate enough for the control they wanted.
Hence the possibility to interface with a personal weather station. Using a personal weather station you get the most accurate info and it alows for PcCompanion to have more weather triggers.
I picked up a very inexpensive weather station from ambient weather with just the temperature and humidity but it has the option for 2 more remote sensors may put one in the hot tub as they sell water proff ones! ;)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Knightrider

  • Programmer
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
  • Home Automator since 1988
    • This Automated House
Re: What Is PCC doing for you?
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2011, 11:24:08 PM »

Tuicemen:

Maybe you should investigate Dallas one wire sensors.
Logged
Tuicemen Software picks up where AHP left off!

Satisfied BVC user since November 2007

Proud Supporter of Xenia Kids and Robots. 
Introducing kids to high technology and teamwork since 2009.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3711
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: What Is PCC doing for you?
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2011, 09:06:43 AM »

I actualy started to look into that but got lost and confused! (RoFL)
The weather station was a easier set up and since I need all ifo a station will deliver at the Remote log home I coded for that.
It realy is surprising how little of PCCs features I actualy use.
About 99% of the features came from users requests.
So I'll revisit the one wire idea!
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3711
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: What Is PCC doing for you?
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2011, 03:57:24 PM »

After I released version 3.0.8.0 with added command line options I realized something! ::) (RoFL)
This could now be used as a alternate to the AHCMD X10s SDK commandline program.
I realy only added the extra commands so I could expand the abilities of WSR Macros. ::)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3711
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: What Is PCC doing for you?
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2011, 05:57:59 PM »

While working on the single instance version of PCC 3.0.9.0 i noticed how close this is getting to a chatbot!
Thats Scary! ::) :`)  I never planed on that one. (RoFL)
Since I had added random startup and shut down greetings in an earlier version,adding random responces to commandline input seemed the next step.
I've included many reply text files in the reply folder. I haven't added a thankyou file which is popular with other programs but the end user could easily add their own. :)!
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3711
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: What Is PCC doing for you?
« Reply #7 on: June 04, 2012, 07:59:04 PM »

My wife has been after me to create a chat program for when I'm at the cottage and she is still in the city.
PCC chat was added for the home network with this in mind as a expanded option.
Little did I realized I didn't need to expand on it.
Running PCC and x10Relayer at home I can connect with a instance of PCC runing at the cottage by simply telling it the IP address of my home network. `:)
My WAF just climbed a notch! (RoFL)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

KENRAD

  • PCC Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 479
Re: What Is PCC doing for you?
« Reply #8 on: February 26, 2013, 02:45:28 PM »

I use PCC heavily in my home automation setup.  With the combination of Tuicemens other software.  PCC announces my caller ID, reads my emails, controls my x10 devices with VR, checks the weather, and much more.   I have started to work on a new Idea with PCC.  I recently started adding the microsoft kinect for occupancy sensing to my home automation system,  with controllers designed by Nitrogen logic.  In my opinion this is the greatest addition to home automation since VR (never touch a light switch again or have the kids leave the lights on )   (RoFL)  So as I have been playing with this I was thinking   :`)  Since PCC4 was released I have had it reading my agenda and emails at 6:30 am everyday, but on those days when you want to sleep in and PCC starts speaking the agenda it wakes you up   (RoFL)  My idea is to get the kinect program to send a command line argument to PCC that is triggered by a zone by my closet doors,  that way when I get up and get dressed PCC can tell me my emails and any appointments that I have   ;> 

 (Chr)  Ken
Logged
I have no clue how to do this but its a lot of fun trying.
Win 8.1, win 7 64 and 32 bit,
XTBR, CM15A, ZTroller
PCC, T.A.C ,HS3, Nitrogenlogic remote, Bluewatch(BT), Bluewatch(WIFI), all plug ins
Microsoft kinect,
Nitrogen logic depth controllers
Phillips Hue, Global Cache, Hyperion, Kodi

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3711
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: What Is PCC doing for you?
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2013, 02:36:45 PM »

I had a look at the kinect program sending a usercommand would work nicely fired from it.
Using the kinect is a lot better then a simple motion sensor however that would work too. ;>
With the add of conditions for the usercommands (Version 4.0.3.1) one can specify if the usercommand should run or not.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!
Pages: [1]