Tuicemens

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Dimming Issues  (Read 2038 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3706
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Dimming Issues
« Reply #15 on: March 04, 2018, 06:47:16 PM »

The 0% and 100% in the code is just to set the module to correct state if that code is received.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

sniickers

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Dimming Issues
« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2018, 05:01:22 PM »

Good afternoon! I haven't had a chance to try the new dim commands(looking forward to it). But I will when I get home. But I do want to mention an issue I have been having since installing Smart Cloud. It seems to lock up my AHP app. Triggered commands sit delayed or when I open AHP it sits until I stop Smart Cloud. And if I sent commands before that, once Smart Cloud is stopped, all the commands come flying through. I have smart cloud installed in Alexa10 folder. I have ran Smart Cloud as stand alone or with Alexa10 and still have the same issues. Any suggestions?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3706
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Dimming Issues
« Reply #17 on: March 06, 2018, 06:27:57 PM »

I've not seen this what windows version are you running?
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

sniickers

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Dimming Issues
« Reply #18 on: March 07, 2018, 01:34:43 AM »

Don't laugh at me, but I'm the guy who runs his home automation system off of...........WINDOWS XP SP3. It's a solid setup. Dual core processor running at 2ghz, 3 gigs of ram, ssd drive. It's zippy and serves everything well. Until this SmartCloud issue with AHP.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3706
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Dimming Issues
« Reply #19 on: March 07, 2018, 06:52:41 AM »

Not Laughing but impressed.
The only thing I can think of that is causing commands to be held in a queue is your running one of the beta installs of SmartCloud and it is throwing a message box that isn't getting displayed.
I'll dig threough the code to see if there is a info message somewhere that may be happening.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

sniickers

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Dimming Issues
« Reply #20 on: March 07, 2018, 01:58:01 PM »

Lol, thanks! So I installed the newest Smart Cloud app you listed in the IFFT thread. I don't see any delays with AHP. However when I send a voice command, I get an error stating "TCP listener fail: SmartCloud Stopped". I have no idea on what do with it. I checked all my network settings, port forwards and firewalls, everything seems fine.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3706
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Dimming Issues
« Reply #21 on: March 07, 2018, 02:11:57 PM »

ok I'll Check it may be your  CloudSettings.xml file got corrupt.
you can stop Smartcloud with task manager then rename the CloudSettings.xml to CloudSettings.old and the re start SmartCloud that will allow you to re-enter new config info
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3706
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Dimming Issues
« Reply #22 on: March 07, 2018, 02:32:14 PM »

The error your getting is from a port # problem.
Did you save your configuration prior to starting the server?
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3706
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Dimming Issues
« Reply #23 on: March 07, 2018, 02:35:56 PM »

Can you post a link to the thread you downloaded SmartCloud from I don't see it?
Just wish to confirm it is the latest ver.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

sniickers

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Dimming Issues
« Reply #24 on: March 07, 2018, 04:15:31 PM »

Tuicemens > SmartCloud (a X10 cloud bridge) > SmartCloud General Discussion > Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3706
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Dimming Issues
« Reply #25 on: March 07, 2018, 04:26:49 PM »

I thought that's the only place I had it.
a new full version is now available
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

sniickers

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Dimming Issues
« Reply #26 on: March 07, 2018, 04:53:24 PM »

OMG!!!! :)` :)` :)` :)` ~:0~ ~:0~ ~:0~ I just read the change log for the newest version you posted. Not too often you find software so well written and user based. I cant wait to get home and try it. Normally I would use VNC to access my system from work on my cell. But I want to present for this new update. Thanks again!!!! By the way what email address can I use to send some funds to you by Paypal? Great work and support like this needs to be supported more. (GJ) (GJ)
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3706
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Dimming Issues
« Reply #27 on: March 07, 2018, 05:37:32 PM »

Actually you can use the link posted here:
http://forums.tuicemen.net/index.php?topic=922.0
As all donations go towards forum expenses.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

sniickers

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Re: Dimming Issues
« Reply #28 on: March 07, 2018, 08:03:33 PM »

Done. I know it's not near enough the value you bring to us x10 users. But I am glad to see your work. I sent from mypaypalformyebay since it's not registered to the forum. Thanks again.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 26
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3706
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Dimming Issues
« Reply #29 on: March 08, 2018, 07:02:14 AM »

Thanks every bit helps.
I hope the latest build helps with the dim issues your experiancing.
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!
Pages: 1 [2] 3
 

succession-resounding