Tuicemens

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Expanding SmartCloud's Ability  (Read 754 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 25
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3585
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
« on: December 27, 2017, 08:32:25 AM »

Currently SmartCloud works with SmartThings cloud and or IFTTT
The tutorial here: http://tuicemen.com/forum/index.php?topic=1219.0 only details SmartThings setup.
Using SmartThings you can only do simple ON/OFF
If someone wishes to dabble with a device handler for dimming and share a working device handler for it, that would be great.
IFTTT on the other hand will allow you to send dim/brighten commands as well as allowing for personalized responses. However using IFTTT requires (what seems to me) a bit more setup per module.
I'll try to get a IFTTT tutorial wrote up unless someone beats me to it. ;>
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

brobin

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2017, 04:11:15 AM »

WOW, you've been busier than Santa's elves the last few days... and have a LOT to show for it! (Chr)
I've been keeping up with the posts and have a few questions.  As I understand it (and set me straight if I've got it wrong), SmartCloud can be used instead of HA-Bridge.
1) If I'm only using Alexa devices is there any benefit in using SmartCloud? 
2) Do you forsee migrating Alex10 towards SmartCloud rather than adapting it to support future HA-Bridge changes?
3) For a new Alex10 installation would you recommend using SmartCloud instead of HA-Bridge?
4) Is there any benefit - at least at this point - in switching from HA-Bridge to SmartCloud?

In my installation I only use Alex10 to send ON/OFF codes which trigger simple or complex events in my Stargate SG-1 controller.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 25
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3585
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2017, 07:13:57 AM »

Thanks,
SmartCloud can be run on its own no need for Alex10 or HA-Bridge so the PC resource demand is much lower.
1:Do you mean Alexa or Alex10? if your running other Smart devices SmartCloud is only for X10 but since it is seen in the Samsung SmartThings app and Skills you have a vast number of possible things that can be controlled with Alexa.
2: I do not foresee Alex10 moving away from HA-Bridge the code is just to intertwined. Many enhancements for HA-Bridge are so it will work with other software which is making the software bloated.
3:For A New Alex10 install I think I'd go with a mix if your PC resources are not low.
However I've not tested both seeing Alexa commands there may be some resulting confusion.
4:the benefit to switching or adding SmartCloud to Alex10 is it will allow Google Home as well as well as Cortana HomeControl it allows IFTTT direct communication.
Many are concerned about running Java programs on there PC. SmartCloud is not a Java program.

In your situation SmartCloud as a stand Alone application may be best.
It only passes X10 commands.
Using the SmartThings Cloud Diming isn't possible yet, but with IFTTT it is.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

brobin

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2017, 07:52:44 PM »

Thanks for the detailed reply.  I'm old so pardon my density, so SmartCloud could replace both Alex10 and the HA-Bridge as well as the need to run Java and be the interface between SmartThings and the CM-xxA right? 
In my Question #1 I was referring to only using Alexa hardware - no GH or Cortana in the foreseeable future as our Dots are beginning to multiply like Tribbles! Alex10 is working perfectly for me now so my questions are academic as I'm a firm believer in the "If it ain't broke" philosophy.  But I want to understand in case I start to do some things with SmartThings.  I have some KASA switches I may add to the mix.

One more question: Will the new Authinx controller you're testing have it's own Alexa skill?
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 25
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3585
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2017, 08:29:13 PM »

It may still be a good idea to setup Smartcloud and not have it start unless you manually do so. Many users have had issues with HA-bridge and windows updates, antivirus updates or java updates these render Alex10 useless until addressed having Smartcloud at the ready may save you a few hours or days without Alexa control.
The new X10 WIFI developer I'm told is to look at Alexa integration next, so it will come at some point. Just don't hold your breath as they're very slow.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

brobin

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2017, 02:11:05 PM »

Understood. Now I have a New Year's project `:)  So as not to risk breaking anything that already works, I'm going to install SmartCloud on a different PC with it's own CM-15a and then shut down the Alex10 PC when I start testing.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 25
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3585
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2017, 02:33:13 PM »

It shouldn't break anything running on the same PC. There is only one file three if you count a text file and the configuration file.
You could install into the Alex10 folder and run independent from there. that way it wouldn't send anything to Alex10.
 However if you install on a different PC make sure it has a x10 interface and the AHP SDK or AHP installed on it.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 25
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3585
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2018, 08:37:23 AM »

I've started to look at adding the possibility for SmartCloud to send RF.
It should do this regardless if running a Cm19 or Cm17. how ever if running a Cm15 or CM11 it sends PLC signals.
Only the CM15 is capable of both.
So the questions for Cm15 users are
1:Do I just add code to SmartCloud so you can select to send RF for all commands?
2:Create  a new device handler for RF and add code to SmartCloud to watch for the specific send option?

If the answer to #2 is yes, do I create a new device handler for both lamp and appliance module or is just one for the lamp modules sufficiant?
 (Chr)

« Last Edit: February 17, 2018, 05:45:55 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

IPS

  • Beta Tester
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Rating: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 85
Re: Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2018, 08:00:22 PM »

I think you should creat for both. Like me there must be others that use appliance modules too.
Thanks for the great work. (Chr)
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 25
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3585
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2018, 08:42:00 AM »

In reality only two devices handlers should be needed.
An Appliance module simply can't respond to a dim or all lights command.
For this reason I'm thinking just create a RF handler this will work for both lights and appliance modules.
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 25
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3585
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
« Reply #10 on: February 20, 2018, 12:23:57 PM »

Ok I've uploaded a new beta version of SmartCloud for anyone wishing to test.
It includes 2 new RF device handlers with reworked lamp devicehandlers
The link is http://tuicemen.com/downloads/beta/SmartCloud-setup.exe
Note: BFiles was scanned At https://www.virustotal.com prior to uploading and came back clean from over 60 antivirus apps.  (Chr)
« Last Edit: March 07, 2018, 04:15:44 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 25
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3585
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2018, 09:04:43 AM »

Ok new beta test of SmartCloud is up.
The links above have been updated and rescanned.
There was an issue with logging which cause the app to stop working.
I've added a small app (SmartLogger.exe) to now handle this operation. Smart cloud passes the info to it.
Also added the option to send a 100% bright prior to a dim command which should help with users experiencing dim issues.
RF device handlers (included) have not been tested as yet so If anyone has tested these feed back would be helpful.
 (Chr)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 25
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3585
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2018, 08:33:21 AM »

I've not heard back from anyone testing, so I have to go by what I'm experiencing.
Logging works fine showing both locally received and SmartThings (Alexa,Cortana,Google) received commands.
The bright before dim option isn't working for me with soft start (at least with Alex10 in the mix) (DH)
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 25
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3585
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
« Reply #13 on: March 04, 2018, 11:33:22 AM »

I believe I found the issue (typo) but I'm going to rework the dim option once more.
I'll expand the on before dim option to either send an off, full bright, or nothing prior to sending dim.
Since each user may wish a different response to the light level request.
If a user has Alex10 handling commands they may be happy with the way it handles the dim so a nothing option would keep that the same.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2018, 02:31:09 PM by Tuicemen »
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Rating: 25
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3585
  • Making Home Automation Fun!
    • Tuicemen.com
Re: Expanding SmartCloud's Ability
« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2018, 02:58:44 PM »

New beta release available use above links.
This includes the reworked lamp device handlers and new pre dim options. :)!
Logged
Get the inside scoop and member perks in the
Members Only Section!

Please don't email me Automation questions 
The forum is for that!
Pages: [1] 2
 

succession-resounding