Tuicemens

Voice Assistants => Alex10 (X10 With Amazon's Alexa) => Alexa => Alex10 Help (support) => Topic started by: DKBIALIK on September 15, 2019, 07:30:28 PM

Title: ALEXA not responding
Post by: DKBIALIK on September 15, 2019, 07:30:28 PM
I have had ALex10 rather stable for a while, this week Alexa says the devices are not responding.  When logging into the HA Bridge I can turn on and off devices.  When going to the Alex10 User interface I can control the devices as well.  Any advice would be appreciated.  I have Alex10 and AHP Pro running on a Win10 Kangaroo.
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Tuicemen on September 16, 2019, 06:47:06 PM
There have been several post on the HA-Bridge github issues pages about this. Seems the last Alexa update screwed things. I can't even remove forget some devices now using the alexa app (CZB)
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: DKBIALIK on September 16, 2019, 07:55:03 PM
Any ideas would be appreciated.  ALEX10 had become a stable  utility  in our house up to this.
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Tuicemen on September 17, 2019, 06:20:43 AM
The issue is Amazons Alexa seeing HA-Bridge. All I can suggest is to use your PC and go to http://alexa.amazon.com log in and attempt to forget your devices then rediscover. That has help me in the past. However several HA-Bridge users have stated this nolonger helps them. If this fails to help you complain to Amazon that they're last update crashed your setup with a software bridge.
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Tuicemen on September 17, 2019, 11:10:46 AM
I took a bit of time looking at Alexa app and dicovering and rediscovering. Even though I had all bridges disabled a forget all then rediscovering was reporting the same devices as found. This obviously is impossible so I then removed each device separately and tried a rediscover with all bridges disabled. This time Alexa successfuly forgot the devices. ~:0~
I then fired up HA-Bridge and told Alexa to discover devices which she found. Telling her to turn on and off one of the devices were again working.
Since I'm using the latest HA-Bridge and had no issues with Alexa prior to the last update Amazon has messed up the saved configuration of devices and the forget all option of the app.
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: alzy on September 21, 2019, 02:40:47 PM
As of a couple days ago i got the same response. Alexa now will not find
any bridge devices. I have tried the forget one at a time approach but still no joy. I am running Alex10 v1534 with bridge v4.5.0. I have spent
at last 2 hours between 2 phone calls with Amazon tech support and the only advice I get from them is to try updating to the latest ha-bridge. Will that help as my system was extremely stable for 2+ years until this week and i hate to go down a rabbit hole?
Can I/should I install Alex10 v1555 over v1534?
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Tuicemen on September 21, 2019, 08:16:40 PM
Do not down grade Alex10 that will make things worse .
Do upgrade HA-Bidge as that is what talks to Alexa and passes info to Alex10
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: alzy on September 22, 2019, 07:36:44 AM
If i upgrade Alex10 to v1555 that will also upgrade the bridge, yes?
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Tuicemen on September 22, 2019, 10:55:56 AM
Up grading Alex10 will upgrade HA-Bridge but not to the latest  that will need ti be done manualy
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: DKBIALIK on September 22, 2019, 07:11:17 PM
 I wonder if it has to do with the latest Dotnet update which does not allow it to be uninstalled.
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: alzy on September 23, 2019, 08:10:07 AM
Tuicemen
Has Alexa10 been tested with the latest version ha-bridge?
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: alzy on September 24, 2019, 09:57:53 AM
Alexa finds devices if I change bridge port to port 80. Looks like Amazon has made some change that now requires use of this port.
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Tuicemen on September 25, 2019, 07:13:54 AM
I've  not tested this with the latest HA-Bridge as I us Home Genie now with  HA-Bridge.
The port from what Ive read needs to be 80 now but since mine was already that I never played with that part of it.
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Oldphoneguy on October 29, 2019, 08:06:14 AM
I had the same problem, one day a few weeks Alexa stopped responding to the HA Bridge.  I changed the port to 80, and it's working fine (for now).  Curiously, even though the light turns on (or off) Alexa always responds with "I'm not quite sure what went wrong."  Anybody else experience this? Suggestions?
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Tuicemen on October 29, 2019, 08:28:44 AM
According to some post on the HA-Bridge issues board playing with the  timings can be helpfull. I don't have access to my bridge right now but I also had this issue early on.playing with settings in the bridge fixed this for me but can't remember which setting it was.
If I had access to my bridge seeing setting my jog my memory but maybe not ::) :`)
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Oldphoneguy on October 29, 2019, 09:39:38 AM
Wonder if this log entry has something to do with it:  UDP Response Port is in use, starting loop to find open port for 20 tries - configured port is: 50000
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Tuicemen on October 29, 2019, 11:50:08 AM
That would do it Alexa has a short window for confirmations any delay HA-Bridge experiances may take it past that.
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Oldphoneguy on October 31, 2019, 07:27:32 AM
Nope.   Found a good UDP port, no more error in the log, Alexa still 'isn't sure what went wrong.' But the voice commands are followed.  Hmmm. 
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Tuicemen on October 31, 2019, 08:01:25 AM
Im sure it was a delay time I had to change and it was located neat the bottom of the page.
I'm back at my off grid place so  ill have at look.

Update : check your udnp  send delay time, mine is set to 350
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Oldphoneguy on October 31, 2019, 10:50:06 AM
No luck.  I changed (and later changed back) pretty much everything that looked like a timer function.   One other clue; when I tell Alexa to turn something on or off, it says Server Unresponsive on the top line of my Echo Show, but it still turns the light on (or off) .
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Tuicemen on October 31, 2019, 12:53:17 PM
It might be best to post a issue in HA-Bridges github bwssystems may have some suggestions to try.  Are you running the latest version of the bridge?
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Oldphoneguy on November 01, 2019, 08:20:45 AM
Well...  the issue has resolved itself,  with a little help from mother nature.  I came home from work to find storms had knocked out power while I was gone.   I restarted my computer and everything is fine.   Apparently power cycling everything did the trick.  Thanks for your suggestions. 
Title: Re: ALEXA not responding
Post by: Tuicemen on November 01, 2019, 08:44:03 AM
LOL that was what I had read on Github glad the power cycle worked. That should be top of the list for all PC issues.